meliponula

Home » The Gold Coast » Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!

Start here

Image

Here is a picture of my grand-nephew Patrick, taken on the occasion of his first birthday.

Image

I believe I was named after my great-great-grandfather, Patrick Kedian. I don’t know this for sure, and it’s too late now to ask my mother. But as I write this I have in front of me a copy of my grandmother’s baptismal certificate. She was born Mary Josephine Comber in Bekan Parish, County Mayo, Ireland, in 1892. The certificate lists her parents as Michael Comber and Catherine Kedian, and also listed as “Sponsor” is Patrick Kedian, whom I assume is the father of Catherine. An online search of the census records turned up one Patrick Kedian, born in County Mayo in 1841 and still living there at the time of the 1911 census, and no other Patrick Kedian who could possibly fill the bill. So I’m pretty sure this guy was my great-great-grandfather.

Image

I wonder what he would have thought as a young man if he could have looked 150 years ahead into the future and seen a little African kid walking around with his name?

Image

All photos by author

2 Comments

  1. rconnectus45 says:

    My relatives are from County Mayo too. We could be related!

  2. My name is Patrick Kedian, too! My ancestors are from County Mayo. We’re probably cousins.

Leave a Reply

